Daily Archives: August 16, 2012

What Would I Tell Tim Tebow?

Timothy Hatfield asked me what I would tell Tebow if I were his pastor. Since I have offered some positive observations of the Tebow phenomenon in the past, I felt compelled to offer a few brief words of pastoral advice: … Continue reading

Posted in Culture | 3 Comments

Exhortation: Awareness of our Sins

Karl Menninger, [1]the author of the great classic Whatever Became of Sin, observed that humans have become less aware of their own sinfulness. Menninger, as far as I know, was not an Orthodox Christian, but he has a far better … Continue reading

Posted in Exhortation | Leave a comment

Flannery O’Connor on Ayn Rand

As an amateur Rand reader and as an O’Connor enthusiast, this got the first laugh of the day: “I hope you don’t have friends who recommend Ayn Rand to you. The fiction of Ayn Rand is as low as you … Continue reading

Posted in Flannery O' Connor | 2 Comments