“I Smelt a Rat”

Patrick Henry’s famous “I smelt a rat” response had to do with the invitation to participate in the 1787 Constitutional Convention. Patrick Henry, according to author, Thomas S. Kidd, “scented that decaying rodent in the notion that the states should surrender more power to a new national government.” –Patrick Henry, First Among Patriots, 183.

About Uri Brito

I am the Pastor of Providence Church (CREC) in Pensacola, Fl.
This entry was posted in Book Notes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “I Smelt a Rat”

  1. Pingback: If it’s an election year, it must be Bogus Quote Time! Patrick Henry on the Constitution « Millard Fillmore's Bathtub

  2. Pingback: Liberty Amendments: a decision analysis | Conservative News and Views

  3. I would like to thnkx for the efforts you have put in
    writing this blog. I’m hoping the same high-grade site post from
    you in the upcoming also. In fact your creative writing abilities has encouraged
    me to get my own web site now. Really the blogging is spreading its wings rapidly.
    Your write up is a good example of it.

Leave a comment